Board of Trustees

Board members serve a critical role at Denver JDS

The Denver JDS Board of Trustees has a responsibility to our students, teachers, administrators, and parents. As such, the Board uses its collective judgments to set and monitor the school's purpose and policy, ensuring our school's integrity and reputation today and into the future.

Denver JDS aims to balance Board membership evenly between current parents who are actively engaged in school life and/or school committees and members of the community with strong board leadership at other nonprofit organizations. Up to 21 elected trustees serve staggered three-year terms, and trustees may elect to serve up to two terms of service. An immediate past board chair, two faculty members from each division, and the PTO president also sit on the committee. Terms run from July 1-June 30.

Click here to read about our Strategic Plan.


Irit Waldbaum, Board Chair
Leslie Sidell, Immediate Past President

Carley Brooks
Randy Brunschwig
Rich Cohn
Marc Cooper
Dr. Haidi Demain
Lisa Engbar
Ken Feiler
Nancy Kaufman
Jared Kleinstein (Class of 2005)
Jocey Kraus
Carla Kutnick
Laurie Morris
Kami Pomerantz
Scott Reisch
Dr. Eli Sacks
Jonathan Sar (Class of 2000)
Leslie Sidell
Susan Schneider Stein
Ilana Steinberg

Alyson Slatkin, PTO President


Dr. Avi Halzel, Head of School/CEO
Elana Shapiro, Lower Division Principal
Jason Snyder, Upper Division Principal
Krista Boscoe, Director of Development
Shayna Friedman, Director of Admission
Cindy Boger, Business Manager

Megan Zitron, Upper Division Faculty Representative
Jerry Rotenberg, Upper Division Faculty Representative
Anna Whistler, Lower Division Faculty Representative
Rabbi Emily Hyatt, Rabbinic Council Rep.